Home > Biking, Random, Road Trip > Another Biking Accident

Another Biking Accident

Well, it’s been nearly 10 months since my last biking accident (that one courtesy of a Dr. Pepper truck) and nearly 20 months since I’ve had an accident without the help of a Dr. Pepper truck (when I slid across a wet road and into a ditch), so maybe I was due for another accident. (Of course, it would have to happen on the last biking day of my vacation).

There are 2 versions of the story.  You can choose which version to believe.

Version One

The BIL and I were out for our morning ride and had just reached our turnaround point.  I had increased the speed to 25 mph (and a smile crept across my face as I could hear the BIL panting and wheezing).  The road dashed down, then up, followed by a quick turn.  I decided to put the hammer down (as they say) and pedaled harder and faster.  Apparently, I misjudged my speed (I have no idea how fast, it was blazing fast) for the turn, and went off-road (not into dirt nor into grass nor pebbles but SAND!).   Sand will bring you to a standstill immediately no matter your speed!  I came to a stop so quickly I couldn’t unclip my pedals and fell over on my side into the sand.

Version two

The BIL and I were out for morning ride and had just reached our turnaround point.  The BIL had spent the entire ride drafting behind me and now had pulled up alongside of me.  The road dashed down, then up, followed by a quick turn.  We were talking about this and that.  I turned my head to make my point (whatever it is I was blabbering about (but whatever it was I was right)), completely missed the fact that the road turned, and went off-road into the sand.  I came to a stop so quickly I couldn’t unclip my pedals and fell over on my side into the sand.

You can choose whichever version you desire to believe.

The good thing about crashing in the sand:  No cuts, no bruises, no abrasions, no breaks.

The bad thing about crashing in the sand:  A sweaty body plastered with sand.  I emptied my water bottle and the BIL’s trying to get the sand off me (a futile effort by the way).  For the entire ride back, I was digging sand out of my mouth, ears, eyes, and nose.  I had sand in my gloves so whatever I touched also now had sand.  Yuck!

And when I got up this morning, I thought I wouldn’t have a story to tell.

Categories: Biking, Random, Road Trip
  1. June 17, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    You had to have a story to tell! At least you weren’t hurt, but you will probably be digging the sand out of your ears for days! Sounds like your vacation has been an adventure!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

