Home > Random, Samuel > Spring Break, A Clean Shower, and a Mysterious Package

Spring Break, A Clean Shower, and a Mysterious Package

Mondays are typically my day off, and I usually spend them reading, going for an extra long bike ride, and then picking up Samuel from school.  With Spring Break being this past week, my Monday looked to be anything but normal.

And normal it wasn’t, but it did turn out to be one of the best days ever.

Although she works from home, Angela usually goes to the office on Mondays, and despite it being Spring Break, this would be no different.

“It’s Samuel-Daddy day,” she declared.

When she drove away that morning, we both stared through the window from the top of the stairs.  I think Samuel might have been more frightened of what the day might have in store for him.  I worried that he might get bored.

“What do you want to do?” I asked.

“Go play Putt-Putt.”

“It’s eight o’clock in the morning.  We’ll do that later.  We have some other things to do first.”

Again, even though we had plans for the day, I had no idea the twists and turns the day would take.

First up, the shower cleaning project.  Normally, Angela takes care of the cleaning.

(Don’t worry, I carry my weight around the house.  I handle the grocery shopping, cooking, and outdoor chores.)

“I think we need to hire someone to clean this shower.  It’s disgusting.  I can’t take it.  I’ve tried everything!” she said.

What?  Spend money?  Did she say “Spend money?”

“Let me take a look,” I replied.

Spend money?

I walked upstairs and took a look.  She was right.  When I looked at the shower with my glasses on, it did appear to be disgusting, soap and water residue along with mold.

After a quick google search, I had a few ideas.

I explained what I planned to do.

“I don’t know,” she hesitated.

“If this doesn’t work, we can hire someone.”

Trust me.

Over the weekend, I had initiated phase one, which involved placing paper towels soaked in vinegar over every disgusting inch of the shower.  Every hour or so I checked back to make sure that the paper towels were still wet with vinegar.

I only made one mistake.  I forgot to wear gloves.

After about five hours, I peeled the paper towels off and started scrubbing.  The soap residue came off easily, but the mold remained.

Enter phase two.  This involved placing paper towels soaked in bleach over the affected areas.  I’ll have to admit, I wasn’t too optimistic.  Vinegar and scrubbing had not even made a dent in the mold.  Nonetheless, while Samuel watched TV, I donned gloves and placed paper towels soaked in bleach over the mold.

With phase two initiated, Samuel and I got dressed and left the house to escape the smell of bleach.

First stop, Lowes.  We needed more bleach.

Second stop, the Apple store.  We were in Fort Worth, so I figured what the heck, it would be fun to look.  I didn’t realize how hard it would be to pull Samuel away from playing with the iPad 2.  Eventually, I persuaded him it was time to leave.

While I watched him play, I heard the following conversation take place approximately six thousand times.

Customer enters store and finds Apple employee:  “Do you have the iPad 2?”

Apple employee, somehow still smiling and being courteous, “I’m sorry we don’t.  We may get some in tomorrow.”

Customer:  “When tomorrow?”

Apple employee:  “I don’t know.”

Customer:  “Can I reserve one?”

Apple employee:  “No, it’s first come, first serve.”

We left the Apple store and made our next stop, the Pearl Izumi store.  I “needed” to get some new cycling bibs.  I “needed” to do this.  I really did.  They were on sale.

And the irony of spending money on cycling clothes but not on hiring a professional to clean the shower is not lost on me.  I will spend money…on some things.

“It’s almost eleven,” I told Samuel.  “We can either go eat lunch or we can go play Putt-Putt.”

“Putt-Putt!!!”

“Are you sure?  Aren’t you hungry?”

I was.

“Putt-Putt.”

Back to Arlington we headed to go play Putt-Putt.  With our coupon and with Samuel’s age, we paid nothing to play.  Incredible!  Free Putt-Putt!

We took turns at each hole and I had to keep telling Samuel to wait for me.  As soon as he knocked the ball in the hole, he ran off to the next hole before I’d even taken one swing.

He also didn’t wait for the ball to come to a complete stop before taking his follow-up hit.  It’s more like Hockey-Putt than Putt-Putt.  Nevertheless, given the 25 mph winds, I didn’t mind his frenetic pace.

“Who won?” I asked.

“Me,” Samuel answered.

“How do you know?  We didn’t keep score.”

And you cheat!

“I finished first.”

“That’s because you went first.  I had two holes in one while you only had one.”

“I still won.”

A six year old’s logic.

We drove across the street and picked up lunch from Chick-Fil-A.  Since it happened to be Spring Break, I figured it was a special enough occasion to warrant milkshakes.  Samuel concurred with my logic.

By the way, the Banana Pudding milkshake is absolutely incredible!

And the day kept getting better- better than a Banana Pudding milkshake.

After lunch, we played a little bit of Wii.

(Maybe we played a lot of Wii.  After continually needing to hand him my controller to get his help at Star Wars Lego, I insisted we play Wii games that I could win at- cycling, basketball, and tennis.  He really didn’t argue as long we continued to play the Wii.)

Then, it came time to pull up those bleached paper towels and see what needed to be done.

You will not believe this.

I did not believe this.

I removed the paper towels and found that 90% of the mold was gone.  The shower looked brand new.

“Wow!”

I applied some more bleach-soaked paper towels to a few of those trouble spots to see if I could get those clean as well.

Wait, the day just kept getting better.

“Let’s go check the mail,” I told Samuel.

On the way out the door, I noticed a Fed-Ex package on the porch.  It had my name on it.

“Huh, I didn’t order anything.”

We checked the mail, it still hadn’t arrived, and went back inside.  While Samuel stood next to me at the counter, I opened the package and found a brand new iPad (1st generation, 32GB, Wifi) still in the package.  Inside, there was a note from this generous benefactor.

Yes, someone gave me a brand new iPad.

(I know who the person is and I called to thank them for their generosity.)

This was some gift!

“Can I play with the iPad?”  Samuel asked.

“It’s not ready yet.” I replied.

“When will it be ready?”

“Later.”

A few minutes pass.

“Is it later yet?”

“No.  You know you have an entire room full of toys.”

“I want to play with the iPad.”

“It’s still not ready.”

Hours later, after we’d gone to the grocery store, before he drifted off to sleep, Samuel had one more question, “Is the iPad ready yet?”

“Not yet, buddy.  Go to sleep.”

(So I can go play with my iPad.)

So, on the first day of Spring Break, I finished cleaning our shower, had lots of fun playing Putt-Putt and Wii with Samuel, and got an incredible gift in the mail.

Not a bad Monday.

Categories: Random, Samuel
  1. Kelly Weber
    March 18, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    Sounds a lot like any day with Reid. Gotta love our 6 year olds. I just got an iphone. All I hear every five minutes is “Can I play on your iphone?”

    • March 18, 2011 at 7:36 pm

      Yep. Samuel keeps asking if I’ve put any games on my iphone. I “keep forgetting” to do so. He’ll probably figure out how to do it himself soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

