Home > Road Trip > Things I Vowed Never To Do Again (and then did them)

Things I Vowed Never To Do Again (and then did them)

I can be rash, vowing to never do something again.  On occasion, my determination succeeds.  I have not even taken a sip of a Coke or Dr. Pepper since 2008.

At other times, I break vows as easily as I make them.  I’ve been knocking them down with regularity the past few days.

I vowed never to write another blog from vacation.  I want to lounge around, ride my bike and go to the beach, not write.  People even asked, “Are you going to write another series of posts this year?”

“No, I’m going to relax and enjoy my time off.”

Let’s see, I drove down yesterday and today, my first full day, I’m popping off a post.

After driving back from Destin to Arlington in one long, seemingly never ending drive last year, I vowed never to make that 800 mile drive in one day again.  I broke that one yesterday.  One day, 800 miles, 12 hours.  That includes 3 stops, each one lasting only 10 minutes (Luigi and Guido would’ve been proud.)  Of course, this can be accomplished when you are making the drive by yourself.

Of note, all meals were eaten in the car on the go.  I only had to change shirts once when I had a slight accident.  That’s all that needs to be said about that.

Why I vowed to resume my diet and limit my intake of sweets on my vacation ranks as one of my more idiotic vows.  As I entered Florida, the signs kept tempting me.  Every few miles, signs rose up wooing me to take that exit.  I succumbed quite quickly, pulling off into a Dairy Queen for not a small, but a medium Blizzard with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  I disposed of any evidence before I arrived in the presence of my family.

Tonight, I have already been “convinced” to go to Bruster’s Ice Cream for dessert.

Years ago, I vowed never to eat at a McDonald’s again, except for the occasional ice cream treat.  This can be traced back to a college night job where someone hired me to help remove and install point of sale systems at a McDonald’s.  I saw enough that cured me of eating there forever.

One surety of my traveling is that I will forget to pack something.  This year, I forgot to pack any Clif Bars, Shot Blocks, or any of the other foods that I normally eat on a bike ride.  No problem, I figured that the peanut butter bagel for breakfast would hold me.

Wrong!

After an hour and a half, I was starved.  Ravenous.  I needed food if I would be able to make it back.  I surveyed my choices:  a Snickers bar or a Pop Tart at a 7-11 or an Egg McMuffin at the golden arches.  Let’s say that I finished that Egg McMuffin in four bites and nothing ever tasted so good.

Speaking of biking, last year I vowed that the first day of riding would be an easy, short ride which would allow myself to acclimate to the heat and humidity and then I could follow up that “easy” day with a long ride.  Well, if 46 miles is an “easy” ride, I have one helluva long ride lined up for tomorrow.

Also, I am now vowing to listen to something more intense before tomorrow’s ride.  Maybe some Pearl Jam.  Maybe some Foo Fighters.  As much as I long the song “Do You Sleep?” by Lisa Loeb, it doesn’t necessarily invigorate one to pedal harder and faster.

It’s vacation.  If you find words that don’t fit, grammatical errors, or anything else like that, sorry.  I vowed to only re-read this twice before posting.  And I’m keeping that one.  The water beckons.

Categories: Road Trip
  1. Rafe
    June 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    medium blizzard?
    =760 calories
    1 hr of moderate/fast biking=670 calories
    I think you’re good 😉
    man i love reading other people’s slip ups 🙂

  2. June 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Before you congratulate Chris on not drinking Coke or Dr. Pepper since 2008, please know that he has drank, ON SEVERAL OCCASSIONS, Big Red.
    Lisa Loeb? Really? I don’t think Im the one that was adopted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

