Home > Biking, The Accident > “So What’s Your Book, “The Accident,” About?”

“So What’s Your Book, “The Accident,” About?”

Since I let everyone know that I have a book coming out in January (entitled “The Accident:  A Bike, A Train, and A Truck), I’ve been getting lots of questions.  The predominant question I’ve been getting is “What is your book about?”

First, it’s a book about my accident.  On August 11th, 2009, the driver of a pickup truck going forty-five miles an hour struck me from behind while I was riding a bike.  The book is about that accident and what I went through- physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Second, it’s a book about the funny things (at least they’re funny now) that happened as the result of the accident.  Things like an emergency room doctor trying to convince me that my broken leg was the result of a previous injury, an emergency room that couldn’t find a wheelchair so they pushed me around in somebody’s office chair, a doctor’s office that wouldn’t schedule me an appointment (even though I was a long-standing patient), and the absurdity of me trying to buy a new bike while I was still in a walking boot.

But most of all, this book is about fear and trying to overcome a fear that seems to have a stranglehold on you.  The trauma of this accident infused a fear inside of me that I wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to shake.  There were chilling nightmares that made me never want to get on a bike again.  Even when I forced myself to get on a bike, I found no joy in the experience.  I worried about getting hit again.  This book is my story of facing down my fears and eventually overcoming them.

Categories: Biking, The Accident
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

