Home > Uncategorized > 2 Guys, 2 Nights in Austin

2 Guys, 2 Nights in Austin

Two guys, two nights, no wife, no Mommy, Spring Break, SXSW, Uncle Rob and Uncle Jason in the same city- it seemed like the perfect idea for Samuel (my 7 year old son) and I to take a trip to Austin.  And if you’re idea of a trip being deemed a success is your child waking up on the last day crying because he doesn’t want to go home, then this trip was a success.

This would be our umpteenth trip to Austin and I hoped this one turned out better than previous adventures, which have included things like a poopy diaper exploding all over the backseat (unexpected) and a trip to probate court (expected because it was one of the reasons for the trip).

On Sunday afternoon, with enough luggage to last week, more electronic devices than necessary (two iPods, one iPad, and one MacBook), we left the friendly confines of home and headed towards Austin.  After fifteen minutes of conversation, laughter, fist bumps, and high-fives, Samuel asked for the iPod and headphones.  At first, I thought he didn’t want to talk to me.  Then, I heard the music blaring from the headphones.

Christmas music.

“He’s listening to Christmas music,” I said aloud to myself, possibly the first sign of trip insanity.  “Either he’s trying to send me subliminal messages or he’s confused Spring Break with Christmas Break.”

By the end of our 3 day trip, I’d vote for the subliminal message.

With SXSW occupying Austin, the hotels took the opportunity to jack their rates by 50%.  We opted for the free accommodations at Casa De Uncle Jason.  It was a good thing that I remembered to bring a sleeping bag.

Here’s some of the things that we may or may not have done while in Austin:

  • Hamburgers for dinner at Mighty Fine Burgers.  Samuel fills up his to go cup with Strawberry soda before we leave.
  • Samuel is asleep by 9.30.  I made the mistake of staying up until midnight reading.  Why would this be a mistake?
  • Samuel woke up at 7 the following morning.
  • I may or may not have allowed him to have his Strawberry soda with his breakfast.
  • The subliminal music message worked.  I agreed to buy one toy for Samuel.  Two Targets and one Wal-Mart later we bought the same toy we could’ve purchased at the first Target.
  • Lunch.  Pizza.  See the picture below to see what Samuel takes off his pizza- everything but the cheese.  Why?  Why!

  • After lunch, I may have insisted that we go to the park.  Perfect weather, not too breezy, and only  a few clouds in the sky.  The good feelings that were present in this photo may not have lasted as someone may have tricked the others into going further than they wanted.  “It’s not the much further.”

  • Monday night, we drove down to South Austin to have dinner with Uncle Rob.  On the way, we stopped at Barnes & Noble, where Samuel found another toy he wanted me to buy.  “Sorry, but your Jedi Mind Tricks won’t work on me again.”  From there, we stopped at Mellow Johnny’s Bike Shop where I wanted to buy some toys for myself.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything in my size.
  • For dinner, we ate at some Mexican food place.  As we approached the entrance, one of the uncles might have said something like “Apparently deodorant is optional here.”  Anyway, the food was great and we ate way too much food.  Samuel devoured the queso like a boy he hadn’t eaten in three days.
  • We arrived back at Casa De Uncle Jason far past someone’s bed time and we were both asleep within minutes.
  • I awoke, feeling refreshed, until I looked at the clock and saw that it was only 1.30.  I laid there for an hour before I fell asleep again.

In the morning, I woke Samuel up and asked if he was ready to get up.

He immediately started crying.

“What’s wrong?”

“I don’t wanna go home.  I don’t wanna do chores.”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nancy Wilkerson
    March 16, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Chris – I love reading about your experiences. You make everything sound so exciting.

    Keep up the writing!
    Nancy

    • March 20, 2012 at 7:55 am

      Thanks. Glad you enjoyed the post

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

