Home > Uncategorized > An Oreo Cookie Led To Love

An Oreo Cookie Led To Love

Sometimes, a question will stop you in your tracks.  The question will cause you to re-evaluate decisions and choices, perhaps even vows, that you’ve made.  These questions, occurring infrequently and at the most unexpected moments, can change your life.  But, you wouldn’t expect this question something along the lines of “Would you like an Oreo?”  Unless you happen to be a lover of Oreo Cookies.

I’d just entered the air-conditioned common areas of the Nix Hall dormitory at Hardin-Simmons University after playing tennis for two hours on a Saturday afternoon in August of 1989.  The room was dark and a group of guys and girls were watching “Midnight Run,” the adventure-comedy starring Robert DeNiro and Charles Grodin.

The question didn’t stop me because of my hunger or because I’d missed dinner in the cafeteria.  I didn’t halt and re-evaluate any dietary changes to my life.  What stopped me wasn’t the Oreo, but the brown-eyed brunette girl who held out the cookie and had asked the question.

Prior to returning to college that fall, I’d sworn off girls for the time being.  Between work and school, I figured that I didn’t have time for girls.  Besides, the emotional ups and downs of a dating relationship had worn me out.  I figured there must be a better way but I didn’t the time or energy to figure it out so I decided to put off dating for the time being.   Now, less than two days after vowing not to date anyone, I was taking that Oreo cookie and squeezing my sweat-crusted and odorous body next to some unlucky person across the room from this brown-eyed beauty.

I must’ve eaten nearly a dozen Oreos that night.

She was beautiful.

*************

The next morning, a friend, Clif, invited me to church with him.  I walked into church and saw that same brown-eyed girl.  I may have said “Hi,” to her, but I can’t remember for sure.  Again, I made sure to sit where I could keep an eye on her.  I was trying to figure out if she had a boyfriend.  It didn’t appear so.

That vow was an afterthought that no longer entered my mind.

After church, Clif asked “Do you want to come back to church tonight?”

“Absolutely,” I said.

My motives were not of a spiritual nature.

That night, we arrived ten minutes late to church.  Everyone was standing so I couldn’t see if this brown-eyed girl had come to church.  I followed Clif and a few others as they looked for seats while I kept my eyes out for this girl.  I saw her and an empty seat next to her.

“Can I sit here?” I asked.

She nodded her head.

I ditched my friends.

When church ended, I finally spoke to her, asking her questions about her schedule, her major, which dorm she livedin, did she work, where did she work, and anything else I could think of to learn as much about her as possible.

“Are you doing anything tonight?  I think everyone might be going out to eat,” I said.  I had no idea if anyone was going out to eat, but there had to be a group going and I was going to invite us along.

“Sure,” she answered.

We walked over towards other students and a group of people decided to go to Taco Bell.

“Is anyone riding with you?” I asked as we walked outside.

“No,” she said.

“Well, how about I ride with you?”  I proposed.

She agreed and we talked the entire fifteen minute drive to the Taco Bell across the street from campus.  I stood in line behind her, continuing to talk to her, and then when we got our food, we sat across from one another and talked for another hour.  I don’t know who sat by us or what they were talking about.  To me, they didn’t exist.  I was enraptured with this girl.

After dinner, I retreated back to my dorm.  Clif and I sat in his room, talking and listening to music.

“So, have you picked out any girls that you might like to ask out?” Clif asked.

“Angela Magee.  She’s the one.”

***************

And yet it still took me until Thursday to work up the courage to ask her out.  Knowing her class and work schedule from our Sunday conversation, I went to the student center for lunch and dinner and hung out until I saw her approaching.  I’d try to sit at the same table as her and talk to her.

By Thursday, I’d finally worked up the courage to ask her out.  We were sitting at the same table at lunch.  My plan was to walk out at the same time as she did and then walk her to her dorm, asking her out along the way.  I looked at her plate and saw that she still had half a plate of food left.  I can go get seconds, I thought to myself.  I got up, got another plate of food, and returned to find that she’d left.

I took two bites and gave up.  I’d lost my appetite.  I got up, dropped off my plate, and walked over to get my backpack.  Most people dropped their backpacks inside the doors of the cafeteria.  As I was getting my backpack, Angela walked in.

“I grabbed somebody else’s gray backpack,” she said as she dropped that one back into the pile and looked for her backpack and then I walked out with her.  By the time, we’d exited the student center, I’d dismissed the fluttering butterflies in my stomach and asked Angela out on a date for that night.

“Yes,” she said.

************

In every other attempt at dating, I’d taken the girl out to a nice restaurant and to a movie, doing everything I could to impress her.  Since those efforts hadn’t worked out well for me in the long run, I decided to try something different.  More than wanting to impress this girl, I just wanted to get to know her.

I picked her up at 7 and we walked back to the student center.  Inside the student center was a place call the Sub, which was nothing more than a place for students to get soft drinks and hamburgers.  At night, it tended to be deserted.

We each got a Coke, sat at a table, and starting talking.  Not until the employees started stacking chairs and mopping the floors did I look down at my watch.  It was eleven.  Those four hours felt like ten minutes.  It was the best night ever.

On the way back, I asked her out on a date for the next night.  This time I splurged on dinner at Casa Herrera and again we talked and talked and talked.

**************

On this May 23rd, 2012, we celebrate 20 years of marriage and it all began with a question about an Oreo cookie, “Would you like an Oreo?”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tonya Brown
    May 21, 2012 at 8:24 am

    awwwwwww!!! I love to hear how people met. 🙂

  2. Jayne Miller
    May 22, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Happy Anniversary to you and Angela. Thanks for sharing your perspective, now I wonder how Angela would answer this. May you have 20 or more years together.

    • May 29, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      I think it’s been a great 20 for her as well. Although, I think her plan was to date around that semester rather than fall for some guy in glasses.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

