Home > Uncategorized > The Curse of The Goggles (Or Learning to Blame Another)

The Curse of The Goggles (Or Learning to Blame Another)

Wanna-be competitive swimmers, like my son, have only two pieces of equipment with which to worry:  swimming shorts and goggles.  The goal is for the swimwear to stay up and the goggles to keep the water out.

The shorts issue can easily be solved by tying the string.  Something someone, like my son, needs to be reminded to do.

The goggles have been an entirely different issue altogether.  He started with a pair of Speedo goggles.  I noticed Samuel stopped at the end of each lap to lift up the goggles and release any water that had seeped in.  I suspected this act was either a nervous habit or a ploy to enable him to catch his breath before doing another lap.  His coach must’ve thought his tactic was of the second as one day she tightened, really tightened, the straps of his goggles.  As soon as he reached the other end of the pool, he stopped and lifted the goggles to let out the water.

I happened to be reading The Four Hour Body by Timothy Ferriss.  In one chapter, he discussed learning to swim and highly  recommended the Aqua Sphere Kaiman swim goggles, specifically for their ability to keep water out.  I ordered a pair from Amazon just before our Florida vacation, thinking that Samuel and I could swim in the pool there.  These goggles were for me.

***

As we swam in Destin, Samuel griped about his goggles.

“Do you want to try these?” I asked, pointing at my goggles.

“Sure,” he answered as he tossed his to the side.

I tightened the straps and away he went.  So did my goggles.

***

On his first day back at swim practice, Samuel asked to take the new goggles.  Not my goggles, but the new goggles.

“Why?”

“They keep the water out.”

On the second lap of practice, Samuel stuck his head out of the water and gave me a big smile and a thumbs up sign.  The water in the goggle problem had been solved.

We thought.

With an upcoming swim meet, they spent the last part of practice working on dives.  The instructions were to dive into the pool from the platform and swim one lap using the freestyle stroke.  Samuel and his fellow teammates stood on the platform.  Samuel bent over and prepared to dive in.

“Ready, set, go!” the coach yelled.

As soon as she yelled “Go,” Samuel and the others dove into the pool.  The others immediately began their freestyle swim stroke, but I didn’t see Samuel.  He seemed to be treading water instead of swimming towards the other end.

Had he misunderstood the instructions?  Had he hurt himself?  What was he doing?

Samuel stuck his head up out of the water and I saw that he was adjusting his goggles.

Once he had them repositioned, he looked at me and shook his fist.

Did he just shake his fist at me?  What was that for?  Was he goofing around?  And why wasn’t swimming towards the other end of the pool?

After he shook his fist, he began swimming.  Once he reached the other end, he got out of the pool and walked by me.  “Your goggles fell down around my neck when I dove in.”

My goggles?

“Tie them tighter,” I suggested.

They were already as pulled as tight as they could go.  Twice more they practiced diving, twice more the goggles came off, and twice more he shook his fist at me as if it were my fault.

Hey, I was only trying to help.

*******

That night, I ordered another pair of Aqua Sphere Kaiman swim goggles, but this pair were kid-sized.  They arrived in time for a practice before his first swim meet and they do not fall off when he dives into the pool.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

