Home > Biking > I Should’ve Stayed In Bed

I Should’ve Stayed In Bed

I should’ve stayed in bed.  That was my first thought as I walked my bike across the Interstate 20 overpass to a Fina station on the corner to change a flat tire.  It was just after six forty-five in the morning and I’d gotten all of three miles from home.

When the alarm went off an hour earlier, I’d deliberated going back to sleep.  “No, you’ll feel better once you start riding.  Besides, the Hotter’N Hell is just over a month away.  You need to get the miles in.”

I dragged myself out of bed and got dressed.  Before airing up my tires, I ate a small bowl of scrambled eggs.

“Be back by eight-thirty,” I told Angela as I walked out the door.

My knee feels stiff.  I wonder if I hurt it running the day before.  I might be be better off resting my knee today.  I should probably go home and go back to bed.

No, it’ll loosen up in a few minutes.

I reached the intersection of I-20 and Park Springs and started across the overpass.  Broken beer bottles littered the bike lane so I steered the bike to the left to avoid the debris.

Clang-clang!  What was that?  What did I just run over?  Before I could process what I might have run over, I heard a loud hiss of air escaping from my back tire.  Within seconds, the rear tire was completely flat.

Instead of changing the tire on the overpass, I walked my bike to the Fina station.  I flipped the bike over and inspected the tire.  I found what looked like a slit in the tire.  When I removed the tube and tire from the rim, I inspected the tire further and discovered that the slit was a gouge.

Not good.

My plans for a morning bike ride were over.  The only remaining question was whether a tube would work with this tire.

I really didn’t want to have to call home and ask for a ride.  Nor did I want to have to walk home.

“Let’s try the tube,” I said aloud.  Yes, I talked out loud to myself.  I’m sure I gave the morning commuters something to talk about, the cyclist decked out in his gear changing a flat and talking to himself.

I put the new tube and tire on the rim.  The first CO2 cartridge malfunctioned sending CO2 all over my hands.

Now, I really know I should’ve stayed in bed.

I attached the second and last CO2 cartridge.  This time the dispenser worked correctly and inflated the tire.  I spun the tire until I found the gouge in the tire.  I found it easily because a portion of the tube had bubbled up through the hole.

That’s not good.  I wonder if it will hold until I get home.

I gently touched the bubble with my finger.  The tube popped, I jumped back, and all the air hissed out of the tire.

I guess it won’t hold.

Should I call home or walk home?  If I called home, as soon as Angela saw my name on the caller id, she might freak out, wondering if I’d been involved in another accident.  But I also didn’t want to have to walk home three miles in bike cleats pushing my bike.

I pulled out my cellphone and called home.

“I didn’t have an accident,” were the first words out of my mouth after she said, “Hello.”  I explained the problem with my tire.  “Can you come pick me up?”

“I’ll have to wake up Samuel,” she said, “He’s still sleeping.”

“Let him sleep,” I said.  “If he wakes up, then come get me.”  I told her the direction I’d be taking home.  If our seven year old son was sleeping this late, and anything past six was late for him, then we ought to let him sleep.

I should’ve stayed in bed.

I put the phone away and started pushing my bike home.  Halfway there, Angela and Samuel arrived to take me the rest of the way home.

Sometimes, it’s just not your day.  But if you can laugh about, albeit a few hours later and eighty dollars poorer (the cost of a new tire), then maybe it’s not all bad.

Categories: Biking
  1. Tonya Brown
    July 24, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    a tire is $80? Daaannnngggg!

    On another note, now I’ll have a response for you next time you catch ME talking to myself again. Haha.

  2. July 24, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    perspective……an $80
    tire but your are safe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

