Home > Books > The Best Books I Read This Month (October 2012)

The Best Books I Read This Month (October 2012)

This month’s list is a bit shorter than normal but there’s been lots of change taking place. I released a new book (One Last Word:  Finding My Dad Again) and I changed jobs, both of which have taken up a great deal of time.  But I still found some time to read some great books.

Far away one of the best books of the month and perhaps even the year, The Longest Way Home by Andrew McCarthy.  Faced with the prospect of marriage, McCarthy finds himself anxious to leave home and travel the world to discover who he is and what he wants.  Full of raw emotion, honesty, and unflinching openness, McCarthy’s words were challenging and thought-provoking.  (And if you’re thinking the name Andrew McCarthy sounds familiar, you are correct, this is the same actor from Pretty in Pink and other movies.)  My favorite quote from the book, “What was it in my nature that pulled me in opposing directions with seesaw regularity, sometimes simultaneously?  How many things had I walked away from because I hadn’t been able to commit?  A teacher once implored me to jump:  ‘You’re wading in the water and it will drown you.  Dive into the deep end.’  She was speaking of my acting, but what she said could have applied to my entire life.”

I discovered another crime writer, another Danish crime writer, Jussi Adler-Olsen.  I read both of his first two books to be translated into English, The Keeper of Lost Causes:  The First Department Q Novel, and The Absent One.  Both were excellent crime novels.

And of course there were a couple of cycling books this month.  First, there was Bradley Wiggins by John Deering, one of the first books to be released about the 2012 Tour de France winner.  The other book was Behind the Stare by Geoff Proctor, who wrote a great introduction about the professional ranks of cyclocross.

Lastly, I read Endgame:  Bobby Fischer’s Remarkable Rise and Fall- from America’s Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness by Frank Brady.  Endgame was an intriguing, yet sad look at a genius ravaged by paranoia.

 

Categories: Books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

