Home > Books > What I’m Reading (November 2013)

What I’m Reading (November 2013)

In the month of November, some of my favorite writers- Ken Bruen and Jo Nesbo-  released new books and neither disappointed. There was also the long awaited first release from Allie Brosh, which exceeded expectations.

Police by Jo Nesbo is Nesbo at his finest. With each new book, Nesbo keeps raising the bar. In this one, his main character, Harry Hole, doesn’t even make an appearance until midway through the book. Nesbo uses the first half to explore other characters in the Hole universe and setup a fast-paced second half with a gut-wrenching ending.

Purgatory by Ken Bruen is another lyrical, Irish crime novel about Jack Taylor. Bruen writes with a unique almost poetic style. Despite making the some of terrible life choice, Jack Taylor manages to survive and those around him are the hardest hit. Purgatory is classic Bruen.

One more crime novel. There’s been much buzz over Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. I’ve listened to a couple of podcast interviews with the author and hearing her piqued my interest in the book. I downloaded a copy of Gone Girl when it was on sale and after finishing Bruen and Nesbo’s latest, I started Gone Girl. Flynn takes the typical story of the wife going missing and turns it on its head. I can’t say much about the mystery without giving too much away, but the story was well-crafted and entertaining. I was so impressed with Gone Girl that I started reading one of her previous books and so far it’s just as well done.

Now, on to that long awaited “memoir.” I’m not sure how to classify this book because it’s so different from anything I’ve come across. If you’d like a taste of her writing before getting the book, google “hyperbole and a half” and read her blog. Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened by Allie Brosh is one of the best books I’ve read this year. Painfully awkward, funny, and gut-wrenching. There’s hilarious stories about her dogs, eating cake, and her struggle with depression.

Some other books I read this month: Dr. J: The Autobiography by Julius Erving and Karl Tao Greenfield (really good and comparable to Andre Agassi’s Open, which is one of the all-time best sport’s autobiographies. I recommend listening to the interview with Greenfield on The Will Leitch Experience podcast to learn how the book came together), Eat My Globe: One Year to Go Everywhere and Eat Everything by Simon Majumdar (entertaining, although I wouldn’t eat half of what he tried), Monsters: The 1985 Chicago Bears and the Wild Heart of Football by Rich Cohen, Johnny Carson by Henry Bushkin (Carson does not come off as likable in this book), Last Night at the Viper Room: River Phoenix and the Hollywood He Left Behind by Gavin Edwards (a sad tale of drug addiction), and Unfinished Business: On and Off the Court with the 1990-91 Boston Celtics by Jack McCallum.

***

My book, Secrets To Keep, came out this month. I hope you’ve got your copy and enjoyed it.

On the blog, my post on Thanksgiving, “Best. Thanksgiving. Ever.” was a big hit.

Categories: Books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

