Home > Uncategorized > Take A Chance

Take A Chance

Take a chance on yourself, an opportunity, a project, an endeavor, a job, a relationship, a physical challenge, on something. Analyze if you must, and I’m prone to do that to death, take the necessary precautions, which I’m also known to do, but eventually, and maybe before you’re ready, step off and take a chance.

What might happen?

You might fail, and it might hurt. Nobody likes those outcomes, but you’ll learn far more by failing than by succeeding, which means I’ve probably learned a lot. Of course, when success does come your way, it tastes much sweeter because of the failure. You appreciate the work and the effort to get there.

That little voice in your head telling you to wait and coming up with a million excuses as to why you shouldn’t take a chance, he never goes away. He’ll always be there trying to talk you out of whatever chance-taking opportunity you’re considering.

A little over a year ago, a friend suggested I apply for a job with his company. Was I interested? Absolutely. Was it a drastic departure from what I’d been doing? Yes. Did I believe I could do the job? Pretty much, and what I didn’t know I believed I could learn and learn fast. Did I think I had a chance at the job? Not a shot. I almost didn’t apply.

What a mistake it would’ve been. I got the job, and it’s been a great year.

Around the same time last year, I published my first crime novel, the third book I’ve published, and my first novel. Every book is an experience in taking a chance. Will anyone read it? If they do, will they like it? Or will they hate it? Writing a book is an egotistical, audacious act- I wrote this, now read it. Today!

(please)

(pretty, pretty, please)

I’m not retiring to a beach anywhere, which wasn’t the goal, or winning any prizes for my writing, although that might be nice, but I took a chance and wrote three books. I plan to keep doing so.

Ah, but those are two that worked out, what about the ones that didn’t? There are plenty of them, and I’d be lying to you if I said that some of them didn’t sting at the time. Some still sting. I’ve made some mistakes in friendships, and sometimes that has cost me a friend or two or three.

I’ve changed jobs, always with the best intentions, and on occasion, I’ve made a choice that didn’t turn out as I’d hoped. Once I had to choose between two companies in the same field. I chose the startup over the established company, and the startup went bankrupt inside of a year. Another time I took a job that proved to be a disappointment, not at all as I’d expected or hoped. One of the few positives, other than what I learned about myself, was meeting the guy who later emailed me about the job I have today. I’d have never met him otherwise.

Take a chance.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Dale Magee
    October 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    I could not have said it better myself! And I. Have taken a few chances in my almost 68 years.

  2. Mary Robb
    October 29, 2014 at 6:11 am

    THANK you!

  3. Shari
    October 29, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    I just read a book by Jon Acuff called Start. I think you would enjoy it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

