Home > Uncategorized > What I’m Reading (Feb 2015)

What I’m Reading (Feb 2015)

It doesn’t seem like I read much this month, but ten books or so is something. Between some changes at work, editing my own book, catching a cold, and lots of other stuff, I’m not sure how I found the time to get any reading in, much less get through ten books. Nonetheless, I did and I discovered two gems.

BOOKS

Book of the Month: The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney. This is why you read- to find an entertaining and unique story. Words like ambitious have been used to describe the book. The Long and Faraway Gone follows two characters haunted by crimes which took place when they were teenagers in Oklahoma City. One is trying to solve the disappearance of her older sister, and the other is a private investigator who can’t escape the fact he was the lone survivor of a movie theater robbery. In most books, the two stories would intersect into one, but Berney takes a different approach. The characters run into each other on a couple of occasions, but their stories never converge. It’s an excellent read. The last two hundred pages, I couldn’t put it down, which is always the sign of a good book. I also read another of Berney’s novels, Gutshot Straight, which is more straightforward noir.

The other good book I read this month: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. This is more of a psychological thriller, as the majority of the story is told from one character, who has a drinking problem, which causes her to blackout. She rides the train into work every day and sees a couple in a house nearby. She imagines the life they must live, the life she does not, and then one day she sees something which shatters it all.

Other books I read this month: The Devil Doesn’t Want Me by Eric Beetner (crime novel), all five volumes of The Cycling Anthology (new and original essays on the sport of professional cycling), Tinseltown: Murder, Morphine, and Madness at the Dawn of Hollywood by William J Mann (covers the events leading up to the murder of William Desmond Taylor and the investigation into his murder- the book is also a primer on the early days of Hollywood and the movie industry), and Why I Watch People Die by Barry Graham (a collection of essays and journalistic pieces about Phoenix, crime, murder, and the death penalty.)

TV & FILM

The documentary, Desert Runners, available on Netflix, follows a group of ultra runners as they attempt to complete a series of ultra races over the period of one year. Fascinating. You will ask yourself why would anyone put themselves through such torture. The blisters on their feet…

I’m continuing to watch and enjoy three shows: Justified, The Americans, and Better Call Saul.

I tried Bosch from Amazon. I gave up after five episodes. I found the storylines predictable and the characters stock. It wasn’t my cup of tea. I didn’t expect much as I’ve only read a couple of the books and found them okay.

WRITING

I’m doing the slow process of editing my latest book, Taken For Granted, which means I’m going over by hand. I make my edits and then type them into the computer. It takes forever. However, I do recommend this process. There’s something about seeing what you’ve written on paper that helps you see it in a different light.

When my beloved saw me scratching away on my manuscript, she asked me if I thought I was done.

“Eh, somewhat.”

If this is what you call ‘nearly done.’

IMG_1110

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

