Home > Uncategorized > What I’m Reading (May 2015)

What I’m Reading (May 2015)

Anytime I talk to someone from outside Texas, they want to know, ‘Are you floating away?’ Another example of how the news highlights one thing and insinuates that everyone is suffering. Is it raining a lot? Yes. Have I had to take some detours to work? Yes. Am I in danger of flooding? No.

BOOKS

Book of the Month: Portrait in Smoke by Bill S. Ballinger. Another classic noir book republished by 280 steps. Curiosity over a girl in a picture turns to fascination and then to obsession. Danny April might wish he’d never seen the picture of Krassy Almauniski. He decided to find out what happened to the girl and finds a trail of men and bad debts in her wake. When April finally catches up with Krassy, will he be the man to tame this beauty, or will she leave him in the lurch as she’s done with all the others? I couldn’t put this one down. I’m looking forward to reading more of Ballinger’s books.

Other books I read:

  • Green Hell by Ken Bruen (outstanding as always)
  • Walkin’ After Midnight by Joe Ricker
  • Hashtag by Eryk Pruitt (review coming later)
  • Gravesend by William Boyle
  • Slice Harvester by Colin Hagendorf (review coming later)
  • Natural Born Heroes by Christopher McDougall. Born to Run was a fascinating read. As for Natural Born Heroes, for me, there seemed to be too many storylines and i had trouble seeing how they fit together. The majority of the book centers on a group of individuals on the island of Crete who kidnapped a German general during WW2 and managed to avoid capture by the Germans. Even the parts of British intelligence worked for me. The parts on parkour seemed a stretch to me. I see how he attempted to bring them all together, but it seemed like a stretch to me.
  • Do Over by Jon Acuff (I heard Acuff interviewed on The Moment with Brian Koppelman.) This is a book on starting a new career, something I’ve done a few times in my life.

TV & FILM

Either I didn’t watch anything this month or nothing impressed me enough to stand out in my memory.

Strike that. My son wanted to watch all three Lord of the Rings movies, so we did. Mostly. I may have been reading at the same time through one or two of them.

WRITING

A productive month. I finished the first draft of a new novel, which might be the fastest I’ve ever finished a first draft. Tentative title is Down By The River (likely to change).

I’ve started on another round of edits with Taken For Granted. I keep saying I’m almost done. One of these days.

In other news, I might have a new cover of Secrets To Keep coming soon.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

