Home > Uncategorized > What I’m Reading (September 2015)

What I’m Reading (September 2015)

The big news of the month

Taken for granted ebook final copy

Two years in the making, Taken For Granted, is now out and available. Only .99 for the ebook.

In case you forgot to get me a birthday present (it’s in September as well), don’t worry, just order a book or two or three. (One for yourself and a few copies for some friends.)

Go ahead. The rest of this post can wait a minute.

Done yet?

Good.

And thanks!

BOOKS

Aside from my own book, which you should buy and read, here are some other books I enjoyed this month.

Book of the Month: This should actually be plural for books of the month. I stumbled upon a new favorite writer, Malcolm Mackay. He’s written an enjoyable trilogy, The Glasgow Trilogy, which contains the following three books: The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, How a Gunman Says Goodbye, and The Sudden Arrival of Violence. Although the books center around crime organizations and their fight to stay in control, the main character in all three books is a hitman hired by one of the organizations. First, he’s a freelancer. Then he’s brought into the organization. Last, he has to decide if he wants to continue living the life of a hitman. Great stories. Excellent writing. Definitely worth the read.

Some other books I read this month:

  • The White Van by Patrick Hoffman- Russian gangsters, a bank robbery, and desperate people. Good crime novel.
  • What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami. A memoir of sorts. This is the second time I’ve read this book. It’s about running, writing, and life.
  • The Art of Memoir by Mary Karr – A book about memoirs and writing memoirs. Really good book.
  • Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer- A look at Mormonism, particularly fundamentalism. The things people will believe.
  • The Race to the Truth by Emma O’Reilly- She worked for Lance Armstrong at one time. Then she told the truth. He ripped her in the press and made her life hell. Then he confessed to his doping practices and apologized. This is her story.
  • The Backup Men and Twilight at Mac’s Place by Ross Thomas- More crime novels by Thomas.

TV & FILM

I’m still sort of plodding through Deadwood. I haven’t watched much else. Looking forward to the return of Fargo.

WRITING

Did I mention I published a book this month?

And yes, I’m already onto the next book. I’m about halfway through the second draft of the last novel in this series, which somehow became a series.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 1, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    Enjoying your latest book now. I delivered a copy of all your books to my friend Ken who is in a nursing home I am sure he will enjoy them all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

