Home > Uncategorized > The Adventures of Moyo

The Adventures of Moyo

“Let’s play a game,” the 11 year old said.

A slight sense of dread came over me. Only slight. My 11 year old son and I had nearly finished our dinner (Monday nights = boys night and eating out). There’s a certain type of game he likes to play, and it’s not a game. It’s an inquisition. Who’s your favorite comic book hero, star wars character, etc, etc?

“Okay.”

“You say a comic book hero and I guess his real name.”

Were their cameras hidden around me? Was I being taunted? Is there a comic book hero he doesn’t know forwards and backwards.

Hmm.

“Moyo,” I say.

“Who?”

“Moyo.”

“He’s not real.”

“You’ve never heard of The Adventures of Moyo?”

“You’re making it up.”

“I wouldn’t do that.”

But I would.

“Who is he?”

“Moyo. In volume 3, issue 12, he killed a man with the sharp end of a tortilla chip when he jabbed it into the bad guy’s neck.”

“You’re telling stories.”

“In volume 4, issue 8, he burned a man with hot queso.”

The 11 year old laughs.

“What’s his costume?”

“Black leather pants, a burnt orange shirt, a black jacket, and he rides a motorcycle. Moyo rides.”

“What’s his real name?”

I pause.

“Matthew Oscar Yogomeister.”

Howling laughter ensues.

“If you ever come across one of his comics, you should buy them. They’re super valuable.”

He shakes his head at me.

“Who was the bad guy?”

The Adventures of Moyo continue.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

